Some news + 10K render

Hello,
I am finally back to work since a few weeks, just on time for the nice european summer. What I did since I came back from argentina :
Worked on a short 3d animation for a swiss hype/fashion magazine called OPEN Magazine. Then doing some aftereffects montages…nothing fancy. And most fun, recently I did have some time to test 2.5 , mostly on personal projects (no commercial yet, but maybe on a next one). I have to say despite the slightly slower interface feedback, i tend to like it , it has a lot of great tools, some of which do not work yet, but still look promising. I love the faster rendering, i even finally managed to render a huge 10’000×10’000 with 2000 particles instance of small animal called agotchi on a “modest” dualcore macbook pro. I think 2.49 would crash at everything exceding 5000×5000 even just with a cube scene. So now no need anymore for scripts to do big renders. Here is the image

huge 4 agotchi

big render of agotchi v4, click to view the 10'000 x 10'000 image (4meg)


For info rendered in 3min11 ( default settings 5M faces on a 8core machine though). The node compositor is very nice to use, nicer interface and faster connections possibilities. I also found 2-3 bugs so reported them. Most got fixed 🙂
Oh and a quick thing I found: Shift- Numpad 7 for the bottom view is now Ctrl- 7. Shift-7 is now showing a kind of ortho midway between 2 views.

voila that’s all for now.

3 Responses to “Some news + 10K render”


  1. 1 Jimmy Gunawan November 25, 2010 at 6:35 am

    I stumbled upon your interesting blog. I love a lot this work with rabbit. I am wondering how did you manage to have this 2000 particles instance not interpenetrating each other?

    My background is Maya. I wonder if in Blender there is a way to make each particle as object and can understand each other’s volume?

    Thank you.

  2. 2 oenvoyage November 25, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Hello Jimmy,
    In fact the “rabbits” are intersecting, its just we dont really see it. In blender Particle system there is a setting called Size Deflect, i believe this option could help, but it is not really an object volume.

  3. 3 Jimmy Gunawan November 26, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Hi Olivier, aha.. you are right, now I can see few intersecting objects. I will take a look Size Deflect in Blender.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Flickr Photos

Darth Vader menacing Imperial Officer - Lego

Maranola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Kids at sunset in Cinque Terre, Italy

More Photos

@oenvoyage latest Twitter


